Neil Chandler's DBA Blog

A resource for Database Professionals

SYSMAN password change

leave a comment »

Some days you just forget the dot all of the i’s.

I had just installed a new RAC cluster, got it all up and running and was using DBCONSOLE to check the system out – no access to the Production Grid Control for this cluster yet. I then made a few more configuration changes and restarted one of the nodes. I was rather surprised that the console could no longer access the system. It was claiming the instance was down, and asking for server logins to allow restart. I was quite sure the instance was available, mainly because I was connected using SQL Developer and executing queries.

So, what went wrong? What config had changed before I restarted the nodes? I checked my notes and… I was hardening passwords. One of the passwords I changed was the SYSMAN password. However, I had completely neglected to inform the EM agent for the console that I had changed the password! Idiot.

cd $ORACLE_HOME/<node_database>/sysman/config
vi emoms.properties
change:
 - oracle.sysman.eml.mntr.emdRepPwd=<clear-text-password>
 - oracle.sysman.eml.mntr.emdRepPwdEncrypted=FLASE

emctl stop dbconsole
emctl start dbconsole
…and all is well again

This blog entry was brought to you by Pierrot.

Written by Neil Chandler

29th August 2013 at 05:51

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

